day 25

22 Jun

I am falling in love with this painting. Every time some one walks into the room I feel like I’m introducing the love of my life, and each time I cross my fingers that the introduction will go smoothly. That you will at least like her, or see the good in her. I don’t expect you to love her like I do, but I want you to respect her and the relationship we have – to be happy for us. Maybe wish you could have what we have, because watching us interact is the closest thing to true love you have ever seen.

The painting is simply pigment on fabric, but I am only skin pulled across bone and some how we both have a soul.

Closing Reception for 30 days : Saturday June 26th, 5-7pm, artist’s talks at 6pm.

8 Responses to “day 25”

  1. Alex June 22, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Mikaela, it’s so beautiful. So are your words. Have fun with the last few days! <3

  2. Anne June 22, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    The painting is beautiful, it looks like you got a lot done since you refocused on it after so much time on the figures. I can’t wait to see it (and you!) in person on Saturday.

    • Mikaela Sheldt June 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

      Indeed! Still, I really needed to spend that time with the figures in order to figure out my internal landscape.

  3. Shawnee June 22, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Holy crap–I don’t get online for two days and this is what happens! Phenomenal!! I wish only that I could be there watching the process in the moment. Thank you again for sharing this blog.

  4. Quinon Miller June 22, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    It is not hard to love this painting. It will be hard to see it go and possibly harder not to see the sculptures (that I felt where so much a part of the painting) become. This 30 day(well 25 day at this point) journey has been an exciting mind opener for me. Wish you the best Q

    • Mikaela Sheldt June 22, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      I feel the same way about the sculptures, but they have to happen in their own time. I cannot rush them into being. However, it is exciting to leave this project with something in the works. The process is a life time – not just 30 days. Thanks for popping your head every so often and making me laugh. So happy to have met you in this context! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

