day 27

24 Jun

This poem is floating through my head and I can’t get it out. I’m not sure what it has to do with the painting, but it is where my thoughts are at.I’ve grown accustomed to the slow passing of solitude
Used to the easy silence of myself
heavy with dust -

Turn my pages,
But don’t take me home with you
Read my thoughts,
But only skim the surface
Search the index
Find only what you’re looking for.
I am always found intriguing – just to serious to enjoy

And you-
Hold my spine like you would never put me down,
Leave your thoughts in my margins
I feel you, lost between my lines,
Finding yourself.
You turn my pages slowly,
We might never reach the ending.

Forgive me.
I am afraid
Of loosing my permanent spot on the shelf.
So,
Quick -

Take me away from here!
Take me so far, I cannot find my way back
Take me
Lost
Into your arms
Wake me buckets of ice water
Then
Scald me
warm
between both palms
Seize me
Straight jacket – hold me
Clenched fists -
take my hand.

I cannot remember feeling.

So,
Chisel our names into the ice
That Insulates my chest
Maybe it will crack
Then
Scream
Timid whispers into the cavity
Till shattered glass
Shards deep into my silence

I want to know the sounds of your voice
So please,
Tell me your name
No promises of forever

Just the two of us
Re-writing love into my memory
So that I can remember feeling

Closing Reception for 30 days : Saturday June 26th, 5-7pm, artist’s talks at 6pm.

5 Responses to “day 27”

  1. Kandis June 24, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    amazing. amazing what i take from this photo of the painting.I can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. Lily Knoble June 24, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Wow! What a wonderful journey you have been having this month! Very inspiring!

    • eric June 25, 2010 at 4:07 am #

      Hey Mikaela, I like the serendipity of my finding and reading this poem of yours after our conversation today. I think (hope) you know what I mean. You’re a neat person! : )

  3. nikki lee June 27, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    mikaela this is painfully beautiful with the vulnerability you evoke. it is raw and awakening. (it inspires me to write, and i wish i could so honestly). great seeing you and your work tonight..dern proud of you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

