day 29

28 Jun

I went into the studio completely prepared to pull an all night’er only to discover that after few carefully painted marks the painting was finished. It feels almost as if the painting said, “Mikaela, put your brushes down, and let me be. I’m good. You are afriad to let go, but I’ve been finished for days now. Go home, sleep, and I’ll see you in the morning.”

It is a strange feeling to finish a painting – both sad and wonderful. I imagine it must be similar to watching your child walk to her first day of school. Happy to finally have quiet alone time, but terribly afraid of loosing your daily companionand inspiration for moving through the day. Who is a painter without her painting or a mother without her child? Simply themselves and that’s a difficult thing to be.

2 Responses to “day 29”

  1. Anastasia June 29, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    “Who is a painter without her painting or a mother without her child? Simply themselves and that’s a difficult thing to be.”

    Well said. I find in just knowing you, in the brevity of time shared with you, that this statement is something your life lives by. Its a beautiful (scary) thing, but I think in your realization you allow others to feel okay in the difficulty. Thanks Mikaela.

    • Mikaela Sheldt June 30, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      It really flows both ways. It makes me so glad that you understand what I’m saying here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

