day 24

21 Jun

I am going to put the sculpture on hold for a moment, because I really want to finish the painting and I am not certain if I will be able to finish the sculpture. It began to lean back a bit yesterday. I’ve secured it with a sling for the time being, but I know there are structural problems with it.

This is my first sculpture ever so it should be a learning experience, but I can’t help expecting/wanting everything to run smoothly. But isn’t that just it? – What this project is about. Process. Everyone is getting to watch me learn/make mistakes, and I’m getting to say, “I have no clue what I’m doing, but what the heck!” I love the honesty, and I love how this 30 day installation is becoming more and more about the beauty of honesty and vulnerability.

The next 5 days are going to continue to be beautiful, and the closing on Saturday will be the perfect time for synthesizing all that has been created during this project. Maybe we will have some new answers to the timeless questions about what is art, who is the artist, and why do we want them in our lives in the first place.

Closing Reception for 30 days : Saturday June 26th, 5-7pm, artist’s talks at 6pm.


Leave a Reply

